Solutions At Hand

Handhelds, smartphones, mobile technology and the digital lifestyle.

Misterhouse mobile interface

Posted by Michael Brown on January 27, 2008

At home I’ve been using MisterHouse home automation software to monitor temperatures in the house. Eventually, time and money permitting, I’ll have it doing more, like controlling HVAC dampers and lighting and other fun things. I usually check it using my Treo, but the default web interface is a little too heavy for Blazer. MisterHouse also has WAP and HTML menus, but I found them a little too light weight and not easily customized for what I wanted to display. So, I made my own interface, and I made it like the mobile pages of Google or Facebook.

Mobile home pageMobile HVAC pageMobile Template

I’m going to send it to the developers of Misterhouse for inclusion when it’s a little more developed. It’s sparse right now, but I’m going to make it available for MH users to download and customize for their installations. I’d ask something in return though; if you use it in your MH installation, can you please send me your pages for inclusion in the interface? I’ll scrub personal stuff (if necessary), and make sure it validates as Mobile XHTML.

Here’s the Zip file. Right click the link here: Mobile Interface Zip File and choose “save as” in your browser. Save it somewhere, then rename it from mzip.pdf to m.zip. Unzip the m.zip file into your misterhouse web directory, and then you should be able to go to http://your-server:port/m and see the web page.

There isn’t any security in those pages yet, so keep that in mind when you install it on your MisterHouse server.

Enjoy!

/Mike

3 Responses to “Misterhouse mobile interface”

  1. Bruce Wilkie said

    Have you tried to use an Insteon PLM? I’ve been trying to get it to work with the Windows version of MH 2.104, and I think I’ve done all that is required, but I’m new to Perl and so far I can’t get it to talk to the Insteon PLM. Any canned setup suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance,
    Bruce..

  2. Bruce,

    Haven’t used the Insteon PLM, but that’s what I’m planning to get in the future. It’s well supported in the svn version of Misterhouse (newer than 1.04), and there’s fair amount of activity about Insteon on the Misterhouse Mailing list right now. If you’re having trouble with your PLM, I’d suggest subscribing to the misterhouse list, and posting your situation there.

    Hope that helps!

    /Mike

  3. Can you tell us more about this? I’d like to find out more details.

Leave a Reply

 
